Skip to main content
Organisational Structure

Research Organisation


The University's overall research strategy, the development of research infrastructure, and postgraduate education are led by Prof Yi-ke Guo, Vice-President (Research and Development) (VPRD) cum Dean of Graduate School. Four Associate Vice-Presidents (AVPs) support Prof Guo in the areas of Interdisciplinary Research, Global Research, Mainland Development, and Research Advancement. An Executive Associate Dean and an Associate Dean support the advancement of postgraduate education.


Prof Ken YungProf CK LauProf Johnny PoonProf Yike GuoProf ZhangProf Huang Yu

Prof Ken Yung

Executive Associate Dean, Graduate School

Professor, Department of Biology

Prof C K Lau

Associate Dean,

Graduate School

Head of Department of Journalism

Prof Johnny Poon

Associate Vice-President (Interdisciplinary Research)

Founding Dean, School of Creative Arts

Prof Yi-ke Guo


(Research and Development)

Prof Jianhua Zhang

Associate Vice-President (Global Research Collaboration)

Prof Yu Huang

Associate Vice-President (Mainland Development)

Dean of Communication

Org chart 20220701


HKBU has eight Faculties/Schools/Academy, each embraces its own niche research areas to increase the overall research capacity of the University. Click on the respective links to learn more about their research areas and ongoing initiatives

Faculties and Schools