跳到主要内容
Academy of Visual Arts

视觉艺术院

Academy of Visual Arts

视觉艺术院作为一所国际顶尖的视觉艺术教育及研究学院,提供的跨学科学习及交流涵盖多种艺术形式、媒介、手法、概念和方法论。

 

研究对视觉艺术院的独特性、成功和可持续发展犹关重要,也对视觉艺术的教与学起关键作用。视觉艺术院的研究多以创作、工作室实践的形式进行,以回应特定研究议题;另有较传统的研究形式,乃以文本研究成果为主导。这种研究策略始於下列三个实践为本和理论探索互相结合的学术优势研究领域:

 

(一)「公共艺术和社会参与实践」属首要研究领域,重点关注社会脉络,通过以非传统的展览场地为主的各种形式、空间类型和场所,传播实践为本的研究,从而建立新门径,扩阔影响的范围与深度。

 

(二)「媒体艺术和新科技」著眼於崭新和新兴的创意媒体实践形式,例如:镜头媒体、电脑软件、扩增及虚拟实境、人工智能和机器人技术。

 

(三)「视觉艺术研究」为亚洲陶瓷艺术、玻璃艺术、水墨艺术及书法的研究发展提供平台,尤其关注在当代和跨国理论背景下对上述艺术媒体的阐释。 

 

上述三大研究范畴不但让视觉艺术院能够探究、思索、叩问艺术和设计实践中的一系列关键问题,更能将视觉艺术及其基本概念传达予本地、地区和国际观众,其影响超越学术层面。将视觉艺术体验带到博物馆和白盒子外的公共艺术项目,尤其能够带来显著的影响。

 

Professor Louis Nixon

黎艺深教授

浸大视觉艺术院总监

总监的话

视觉艺术院以推广视觉艺术领域的新知识和研究、提升公众对欣赏及参与艺术的兴趣和促进年轻艺术家的专业发展为目标,专注於透过创意实践、创作过程和物料学习新知识,并根据历史情境以批判思维了解作品的创作。

 

院内每位研究人员均就广泛且多元的议题进行研究,而且对公共艺术、社会参与艺术、艺术与科技,还有在跨国语境下的物件分析     尤感兴趣。我们的研究活动获视觉艺术研究与发展中心支援。该中心在2013年成立,以视觉艺术院启德校园为基地,旨在加强香港以至邻近地区的视觉艺术发展。研究中心举办的活动充满活力,当中包括艺术家驻校计划、形形色色的展览、工作坊、艺术家对谈、导赏活动、放映会,还有出版各类型的刊物及发布网上资源。

 

未来,我们将投放更多资源以集中发展数码媒体及创意科技。这将使我们能继续支援新兴的艺术实践和研究,同时完善我们现有的传统艺术工作室和设施。

 

 

浸大视觉艺术院总监

黎艺深教授

 

重点研究范畴

公共艺术和社会参与实践 

研究中心

视觉艺术研究与发展中心

Skip to main content
Academy of Visual Arts

The Academy of Visual Arts  is a leading international academy for teaching and research in the visual arts. The Academy offers interdisciplinary study and connectivity across a broad range of formats, media, approaches, concepts and methodologies. 

 

Research is critical to the Academy of Visual Arts’ distinctiveness, success and sustainability and is central to the quality of teaching and learning. Research at the Academy takes the form of creative, studio-based practice that addresses specific research questions or more traditional text-based research outcomes. It is organised through three interweaving strands of practice-based and theoretical inquiry in the following thematic groupings: 

 
  1. “Public Art and Socially Engaged Practice” is a primary research area with a focus on social context and the dissemination of practice-based research in a wide range of formats, spatial types and locations. Overall, it aims to develop new approaches and increase reach and impact. 
  2. “Media Art and New Technologies” focuses on new and emergent forms of creative media practice which utilise lens-based media, computer software, augmented and virtual reality, artificial intelligence and robotics technologies. 
  3. “Visual Arts Studies” provides a platform for the development of research in the fields of Asian ceramics, glass art, ink art and calligraphy, and particularly their interpretation in contemporary and transnational theoretical contexts. 

These three research strands enable the Academy to interrogate key issues within a range of art and design practices. The impact of these focal areas transcends the academic community and brings engagement with the visual arts and underlying concepts to local, regional and international audiences. Significant impact is particularly evident with the Academy’s public art projects that take the experience of visual art beyond museum and gallery walls.

 

Professor Louis Nixon

Professor Louis Nixon

Director, Academy of Visual Arts

Message from the Director

At Academy of Visual Arts, we focus on learning through creative practices, processes and materials and understanding the making of work within critical and historical contexts. Our goals are to promote new knowledge and research in the field of visual arts, raise the public’s interest in arts appreciation and participation, and facilitate the professional development of young artists.

 

Researchers at the Academy pursue a broad and diverse agenda with special focus on public art, socially-engaged art, art and technology, and the analysis of objects in a transnational context. Our research activities are supported by the Centre for Research and Development in Visual Arts, which was established at the Academy in 2013 to enhance the development of visual arts in Hong Kong and neighbouring regions. The Research Centre offers a vibrant programme of artist-in-residence schemes, exhibitions, workshops, artist talks, guided tours and screenings, as well as a variety of publications and online resources.

 

Our future developments will focus on further investment in digital resources and creative technologies. This will enable us to continue to support emergent practice and research and to complement our traditional and established production studios and facilities.

 

Professor Louis Nixon

Director, Academy of Visual Arts

Faculty Niche Research Areas

Public Art and Social Engagement

Research Centre