跳到主要内容

在香港及东亚地区艺廊与美术馆以外的领域接触新艺术观众

返回

项目简介

自2014年起,由梁美萍教授、副教授尹丽娟、助理教授伍韶劲主导的研究团队,一直致力研究在另类空间展示公共艺术的可能性。研究团队与香港艺术馆、香港艺术发展局、康乐及文化事务署、艺术推广办事处、巴塞尔艺术展、台湾视觉艺术协会、日本越后妻有大地艺术祭、韩国光州双年展等本地及国际伙伴合作,并利用交通网络、历史古迹、政府设施、商店等具公共性的另类空间,发展全新的公共艺术展览及作品,拓展视觉艺术的观众群,令大众更容易接触视觉艺术。

 

过去六年,不同的政府部门及策略发展基金为此研究项目提供共二百四十万港元资助。梁教授在项目初步研究成果〈与社会交往的新艺术领域〉(2014)一文中,探讨公共艺术在香港的发展,以及如何运用商业和社区空间发挥创意。为配合此研究,梁教授更制作了首份1997至2014年间香港社会参与艺术的详尽年表。

 

完成初步研究后,团队召开了两次国际会议,透过合作及交流,逐步将研究成果带至海外。「与社会交往的艺术:香港台湾交流展」会议於2014年举行,就香港与台湾过去二十年间透过艺术推行的社会参与实践,进行了大规模研究。2017年,视觉艺术研究与发展中心更联同国际公共艺术协会举办「第三届国际公共艺术奬暨公共艺术会议」,重点探讨世界各地透过视觉艺术推动的社会参与实践,并展示了超过140个国际项目及个案研究。

 

建基於梁教授的分析与个案研究,副教授尹丽娟及助理教授伍韶劲取得六项实践为本的研究成果。这些研究成果均获委约於历史古迹、公共空间和艺术节中展出,成功增加社会参与。2014年中秋节期间,助理教授伍韶劲於佐敦谷公园展出的作品《月台》让观众透过当代艺术,反思都市生活与自然循环的关系;2017年,伍氏在香港巴塞尔艺术展展出其首个利用香港公共交通网络创作的艺术项目作品《二十五分钟后》,此作由香港巴塞尔艺术展委托创作,并获澳门美高梅国际酒店集团艺术与文化支持。伍氏於「光影香港」(2017)展出的互动项目《关於海的歌》则与大众一同探讨移民问题。2018年,他首度与香港渠务署合作,於大坑东地下蓄洪池创作艺术项目《大禹之后》。

 

另外,副教授尹丽娟参考超级市场出售的日常用品,创作了两组研究式作品,并透过此新形式的艺术研究,扩大社会参与及实践。2016年,她获第十一届南韩光州双年展邀约创作《Everyday a Rainbow》。翌年她获香港艺术发展局「艺坛新势力」委约,展出作品《珍百货》。2019年,她接受康乐及文化事务署及香港艺术发展局委约,於日本越后妻有大地艺术祭的「香港部屋」驻留,并为当地的偏远乡郊社区创作全新艺术作品。

 

 

VIDEO

Art Basel: Kingsley Ng's 'Twenty-Five Minutes Older', Hong Kong

成就

  • 由视觉艺术研究与发展中心开展的视觉艺术研究,以实践为本,着重公众参与。这些新研究改变了部份机构的行为模式,以及使用另类空间进行公共艺术创作的态度。迄今为止,此研究项目涵盖超过三十五万名参加者,不但令公众更乐於参与视觉艺术,更推广至香港、台湾、南韩和日本等地,增加当地大众对当代艺术的了解。

展览及出版

  • 梁美萍(2014)。〈与社会交往的新艺术领域〉。载於吴玛悧编,《与社会交往的艺术:香港台湾交流展》。台湾:台湾视觉艺术协会(2014)。
  • 梁展峰、丁颖茵(2014)。〈大事纪——香港历史与社会参与艺术年表〉。摘自网页https://ava.hkbu.edu.hk/en/community/hk-socially-engaged-art。
  • 伍韶劲(2016-17)。《二十五分钟后》——作为电影院延伸的流动暗室[艺术作品]。第五届大型互动媒体艺术展(香港)及第二十二届国际电子艺术研讨会(香港,2016年5月18至6月22日);香港巴塞尔艺术展(2017年3月20至28日);意大利米兰设计周(2017年4月4至9日)。
  • 伍韶劲(2018)。《大禹之后》——作为社会中介的城市媒体艺术[艺术作品]。香港艺术发展局主办的赛马会艺坛新势力(2018年1月6至31日)。
  • 尹丽娟(2016)。《Everyday a Rainbow》[艺术作品]。第十一届光州双年展(南韩,2016年9月2至11月6日)。
  • 尹丽娟(2017)。《珍百货》[艺术作品]。香港艺术发展局主办:赛马会艺坛新势力(2018年12月19至1月28日)

联系我们的研究人员

Professor Leung Mee-ping

梁美萍教授

视觉艺术院

Mr Kingsley Ng

伍韶劲先生

视觉艺术院

Ms Annie Wan

尹丽娟女士

视觉艺术院

Skip to main content

Engaging New Audiences: Art Beyond Museums and Galleries

BACK

Project Overview

Since 2014, a research team led by Professor Leung Mee-ping and Assistant Professors Kingsley Ng and Annie Wan has been conducting research on alternative spaces for public art. Working in collaboration with local and international stakeholders, such as the Hong Kong Museum of Art (HKMA), the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (HKADC), the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD), the Art Promotion Office (APO), Art Basel, the Association of Visual Arts in Taiwan, Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennial (Japan) and the Gwangju Biennale (South Korea), the team has conducted historical research and developed new outputs utilising transport networks, historical sites, government facilities, shops and festivals to increase and diversify the audience and enable greater access to the visual arts.

 

The research has been supported by grants of HK$2.4 million from government departments and Strategic Development Funds over the past six years. In initial research reported in a book chapter, “A New Field: Socially Engaged Art in Hong Kong” (2014), Professor Leung examined the development of public art and community art in Hong Kong and the use of commercial and social spaces for creativity. To accompany this chapter, Professor Leung produced the first comprehensive timeline report on Hong Kong’s socially engaged art from 1997 to 2014.

 

To extend the initial research beyond Hong Kong, the team convened two international conferences. Art as Social Interaction: Hong Kong/Taiwan Exchange (2014) was the first to present an extensive survey of social engagement practices through art over the past two decades in Hong Kong and Taiwan. The Third International Award for Public Art and its associated conference (2017) was organised by the Centre for Research and Development in Visual Arts (CRDVA) with the Institute for Public Art. This conference focused on international practices of social engagement through the visual arts, presenting over 140 projects and international case studies. 

Building on Professor Leung’s analysis and a case study examination, Assistant Professors Ng and Wan developed six practice-based research outputs to reach and engage new audiences (2017–2019). The outputs were commissioned for historical sites, urban sites and festivals. In 2017, Assistant Professor Ng worked with Art Basel Hong Kong, MGM Art and Culture, the Hong Kong Design Centre and the LCSD to present Twenty-five Minutes Older at Art Basel Hong Kong. This was the first art project completed in collaboration with Hong Kong’s public tram network. Over the Ocean at Lumieres Hong Kong (2017) engaged the public in an interactive project exploring issues of migration. After the Deluge (2018), presented in the Tai Hang Tung underground stormwater storage tank, was the first art project to involve the Hong Kong Drainage Services Department. To the Moon (2018), presented during the Mid-Autumn Festival in Jordan Valley Park, engaged the audience in exploring aspects of intangible cultural heritage through contemporary art. 

 

To extend the impact of increased social engagement and participation through new forms of artistic research beyond Hong Kong, Assistant Professor Wan also produced two research works based on everyday items sold in supermarkets. Everyday a Rainbow (2016) was commissioned by the 11th Gwangju Biennale in South Korea and Zan Baak Fo (2017) was commissioned for the New Arts Power Festival presented by the HKADC. Furthermore, in 2019, Assistant Professor Wan was commissioned by the LCSD and HKADC to create new artworks for a remote rural community at the Hong Kong House for the Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale, Japan.

 

VIDEO

Art Basel: Kingsley Ng's 'Twenty-Five Minutes Older', Hong Kong

Achievements

  • New forms of event-based and participatory visual art research, conducted at the Centre for Research and Development in Visual Arts (CRDVA), have led to changes in organisational behaviour and attitudes towards the commissioning of public art in alternative venues. This research has also increased public engagement in the visual arts and developed new audiences and understanding of contemporary art in Hong Kong, Taiwan, South Korea, and Japan, reaching 350,000 participants.

Exhibitions and Publications

  • Leung, J. (2014). A new field: Socially engaged art in Hong Kong. In M. Wu (Ed.), Art as social interaction: Hong Kong/Taiwan exchange. Taiwan: Association of the Visual Arts in Taiwan.
  • Leung, J., & Ting, V. (2014). Timeline of Hong Kong history and Hong Kong’s socially engaged art. Retrieved from  https://ava.hkbu.edu.hk/en/community/hk-socially-engaged-art
  • Ng, K. (2016–17). Twenty-five minutes older - mobile camera obscura as a form for expanded cinema [Artwork.] 5th Large Scale Media Arts Festival Hong Kong and 22nd International Symposium on Electronic Art, Hong Kong SAR (18 May-22 June 2016); Art Basel Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR (20–28 March 2017); and Milan Design Week, Milan, Italy (4–9 April 2017).
  • Ng, K. (2018). After the deluge–urban media art as social mediation [Artwork.] Jockey Club New Arts Power, Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Hong Kong, SAR (6–31 January 2018).
  • Wan, A.L.K. (2016). Everyday a Rainbow [Artwork.] 11th edition of Gwangju Biennale, South Korea (2 September -6 November 2016)
  • Wan, A.L.K. (2017). Zan Baak Fo [Artwork.] Jockey Club New Arts Power, Hong Kong Arts Development Council exhibition, Hong Kong SAR (19 December 2017 -28 January 2018).

Contact Our Researchers

Professor Leung Mee-ping

Professor Leung Mee-ping

Academy of Visual Arts

Mr Kingsley Ng

Mr Kingsley Ng

Academy of Visual Arts

Ms Annie Wan

Ms Annie Wan

Academy of Visual Arts