跳到主要内容
Featured Researchers

史亚当博士

香港浸会大学文学院
饶宗颐国学院副院长
中国语言文学系助理教授

返回

简历

史亚当博士专研中国古文字学,史官文化及符号学,充分体现了浸会大学文学院致力於理解和保存中国文化遗产的重视。史亚当博士於2013年获得芝加哥大学博士学位,在2017年受聘为中国语言文学系和饶宗颐国学院的助理教授,并在2018年起担任饶宗颐国学院副院长一职。

 

他的第一本著作《The Oracle Bone Inscriptions from Huayuanzhuang East》(殷墟花园庄东地甲骨文)於2019年底由De Gruyter Mouton 出版社出版,为饶宗颐国学院汉学丛书系列的其中一个著作。殷墟花园庄东地甲骨文由2500多条占卜刻辞,被刻在数百个完好无损的龟壳和牛肩骨上,组成一批完整的晚商“非王”占卜记录系统。此书除了向读者介绍中国早期文明中的个人与家庭生活外,更是第一本为殷墟花园庄东地甲骨提供了完整英文注释的翻译文本。

 

史亚当博士透过在甲骨文,青铜铭文,竹手稿和《易经》等研究,向学术界以至普罗大衆传达了文字背后的目的、意义和影响,可谓极具深度且多元化。在与牛津大学皇后学院和来自上海复旦大学的出土文献与古文字研究中心等知名机构的合作关系中,史亚当博士亦成功地展示了其人脉和研究领域,为香港浸会大学提高了在国际学术界的知名度。

 

史亚当博士即将发表的书籍和期刊文章项目正接受优配研究金/杰出青年学者计划的资助,他的著作将进一步促进所有对中国传统文化和古代世界知识感兴趣的人之间的学术交流。优配研究金计划的内容亦将会在饶宗颐国学院院刊第7期(2020)和甲骨文与殷商史第10期(2020)中纪录。除此之外,史亚当博士还参与了两本书籍的撰写工作。第一本书是由北京清华大学出土文物与保护研究中心资助,并与香港中文大学出版社签约,为一本有关战国时期《易》类出土文献。第二本书则是与牛津大学皇后学院的Dirk Meyer(麦迪)教授共同编写,为关於一本新发现的战国时期《诗经》传本。此书将被出版在汉学丛书系列中,是与牛津大学五年合作企划的其中一个著作。

 

成就

  • 香港浸会大学学院优秀青年研究学者奖(2019-20)

 

出版著作

  • Schwartz, Adam C. The Oracle Bone Inscriptions from Huayuanzhuang East: Translated with an introduction and commentary. Library of Sinology Volume 3. Berlin: De Gruyter Mouton, 2019. https://www.degruyter.com/viewbooktoc/product/482226?rskey=FLq4pK&result=2
  • Schwartz, Adam C. “Deictic Pictographs and a Reappraisal of the Primary Meanings of Di 帝and Kong 孔.” Dialogue of Four Pristine Writing Systems. Eds. Chen, Kuang Yu, Dietrich Tschanz & Tu Ching-i. New Jersey: Confucius Institute of Rutgers University, 2019. 125-154.
  • Schwartz, Adam C. “Shang Sacrificial Animals—Material Documents and Images.” Animals through Chinese History: Earliest Times to 1911. Eds. Schäfer, Dagmar, Roel Sterckx & Martina Siebert. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019. 20-45. https://doi.org/10.1017/9781108551571.003
  • 史亚当,〈甲骨文”勘巫九灵”和”勘巫九骼”涵义新考〉,载《甲骨文与殷商史:纪念殷墟甲骨文发现120 周年专辑》,1月号 (2019),页429‐438 。
  • Schwartz, Adam C. “Between Numbers and Images: The Many Meanings of Trigram Gen 艮 in the Early Yijing.” Asiatische Studien - Études Asiatiques 72.4 (Winter 2018): 1133-1193. https://doi.org/10.1515/asia-2017-0067

Skip to main content
Featured Researchers

Dr Adam Schwartz

Associate Director, Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology
Assistant Professor, Department of Chinese Language and Literature

BACK
Dr Adam Schwartz

Contact

About

With his specialty in the Chinese writing system and scribal culture and semiotics, Dr Adam Schwartz embodies the research ethos of the HKBU Faculty of Arts in its dedication to understanding and preserving vital elements of Chinese cultural heritage. Dr Schwartz (PhD, University of Chicago, 2013) has held a joint appointment as Assistant Professor in the Department of Chinese Language and Literature and the Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology since 2017, and he has served as Associate Director of the Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology since 2018.

 

His first book, The Oracle Bone Inscriptions from Huayuanzhuang East, Translated with an Introduction and Commentary, was published in late 2019 by De Gruyter Mouton (Berlin) in the series Library of Sinology. The Huayuanzhuang East oracle bone inscriptions (殷墟花園莊東地甲骨) form a corpus of more than 2,500 individual divination accounts, which were engraved on hundreds of still intact turtle shells and bovine scapulae in the late Shang dynasty (c. 1200 B.C.). The book offers the first complete English annotation of these fantastic epigraphic texts and introduces the reader to key aspects of personal and family life in early Chinese civilization.

 

Dr Schwartz has demonstrated both depth and versatility in communicating the purpose, meaning and impact of his research in the areas of oracle bone inscriptions, bronze inscriptions, bamboo manuscripts, and the Yijing to the academic community and wider public alike. He has also managed to show the societal context of achievements and the field of research by proactively collaborating with highly acclaimed institutions such as The Queen’s College, Oxford, and the Center for Research on Excavated Texts and Paleography, Fudan University (Shanghai). He has established links with leading institutions in the discipline and also enhanced the University's visibility in the international academic community.

 

Dr Schwartz’s forthcoming book and journal article projects, which are currently in progress on a major GRF-ECS research grant (2019-2022), will further foster scholarly exchange among all people interested in the traditional culture of China and knowledge of the ancient world. Output for the GRF project will appear shortly in the Bulletin of the Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology 7 (2020) and Jiaguwen yu Yin-Shang shi 甲骨文與殷商史10 (2020). He is also at work on two book projects. Book one – sponsored and funded by the Center for Research on Excavated Texts and Preservation, Qinghua University (Beijing) and under contract with the Chinese University of Hong Kong press – is a study and annotated translation of a Warring States period study guide for hexagram divination. Meanwhile, book two – which is being jointly written with Professor Dirk Meyer from The Queen’s College, Oxford as part of a five-year cooperation – is on a recently discovered Warring States period version of a portion of the Shijing (Book of Songs). It will be published in the book series Library of Sinology (De Gruyter Mouton).

 

Achievement

  • HKBU Faculty/School/Academy of Visual Arts Performance Award for Young Researcher (2019-20)

 

Research Outputs

  • Schwartz, Adam C. The Oracle Bone Inscriptions from Huayuanzhuang East: Translated with an introduction and commentary. Library of Sinology Volume 3. Berlin: De Gruyter Mouton, 2019. https://www.degruyter.com/viewbooktoc/product/482226?rskey=FLq4pK&result=2
  • Schwartz, Adam C. “Deictic Pictographs and a Reappraisal of the Primary Meanings of Di 帝and Kong 孔.” Dialogue of Four Pristine Writing Systems. Eds. Chen, Kuang Yu, Dietrich Tschanz & Tu Ching-i. New Jersey: Confucius Institute of Rutgers University, 2019. 125-154.
  • Schwartz, Adam C. “Shang Sacrificial Animals—Material Documents and Images.” Animals through Chinese History: Earliest Times to 1911. Eds. Schäfer, Dagmar, Roel Sterckx & Martina Siebert. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019. 20-45. https://doi.org/10.1017/9781108551571.003
  • 史亞當,〈甲骨文”勘巫九靈”和”勘巫九骼”涵義新考〉,載《甲骨文與殷商史:紀念殷墟甲骨文發現120 周年專輯》,1月號 (2019),頁429‐438 。
  • Schwartz, Adam C. “Between Numbers and Images: The Many Meanings of Trigram Gen 艮 in the Early Yijing.” Asiatische Studien - Études Asiatiques 72.4 (Winter 2018): 1133-1193. https://doi.org/10.1515/asia-2017-0067