跳到主要内容
Featured Researchers

张戈教授

中医药学院副院长(研究)、技术开发部主任、教学科研部教授
精准医学与创新药物研究所主任、罗守辉骨与关节疾病转化医学研究所主任

返回
张戈教授

联络

简历

张戈教授致力於以适配子为基础的转化医学和药物研发工作,主要体现在以下三个方面(图1),将传统中医药的智慧与现代化的科学技术融会贯通。 

 

针对面向转化医学的以适配子为基础的靶向递送(图2),张教授已经确立了一类接近骨形成表面的寡肽适配子(第一代成骨细胞靶向组分) (Zhang G, et al, Nature Medicine, 2012; Wang X, et al, Nature Medicine, 2013) 和一类成骨细胞靶向的核酸适配子(第二代成骨细胞靶向组分) (Liang Chao, et al, Nature Medicine, 2015)。一篇发表於Nature Medicine 的综述高度评价了第一代成骨细胞靶向递送系统,其开创了成功包装和施用siRNA以治疗性地靶向骨骼的先河,引领了其他骨骼重构单元靶向治疗的新策略的发展 (C. J. Rosen.  Nature Medicine, 2012)。Nature Reviews Rheumatology和Nature Reviews Endocrinology对第二代成骨细胞靶向组分做出了特别评论,高度赞扬此项工作加速了针对骨骼疾病的核酸干预策略的临床转化 (J. H. Duarte. Nature Reviews Rheumatology, 2015; J Sargent, Nature Reviews Endocrinology, 2015)。Nature Review Drug Discovery也评价此工作是作为适配子未来发展和临床评估的强劲推动力 (J. Zhou. Nature Review Drug Discovery, 2017)。在中国,天舟一号货运飞船专案中,第二代成骨细胞靶向组分对於在深空探索过程中由太空微重力所引起的宇航员骨流失的潜在分子机制的研究发挥了关键的促进作用。

 

此外,张教授也已鉴定出一类接近骨吸收表面的寡肽适配子-第一代破骨细胞靶向组分,(Li D, et al, Nature Communication, 2016; Liu J, et al, Biomaterial, 2015) -和骨肉瘤细胞靶向的核酸适配子(骨肉瘤靶向组分) (Liang Chao, et al, Biomaterial, 2017)。Asia Research News 评价骨肉瘤靶向组分为利用CRISPR / Cas9基因编辑技术治疗癌症提供了新的临床策略 (Asia Research News Magazine, 2019)。

 

对於面向精准医学的适配子-药物结合物(图3),张教授研发出一种成骨细胞寡肽适配子-查耳酮共轭物,以促进结合的草药天然产物查尔酮靶向成骨细胞,从而促进在脊柱融合过程中对BMP治疗无反应患者的骨形成 (Liang Chao, et al, Nature Communication, 2018)。此外,张教授还进一步开发出一种具有高水溶性的肿瘤细胞适配子-紫杉醇(天然产物)共轭物,以促进结合的紫杉醇在卵巢癌中低系统毒性地靶向肿瘤细胞-一种针对特定癌症类型的以精准医学为基础的个性化紫杉醇 (Li F, et al, Nature Communication, 2017)。 

 

对於治疗性适配子(图4),张教授发现骨硬化素的loop 3结构域截短可以促进骨合成代谢的Wnt信号传导和骨形成,但不影响骨硬化素对於心血管系统的保护功能。此发现为解决在骨质疏松症治疗中众多骨硬化素抗体所面临的临床挑战(心血管安全问题),提供了至关重要的药物研发方向。并且,张教授已进一步研发出能够功能性地靶向骨硬化素loop3的适配子(第二代骨硬化素抑制剂),在骨质疏松症和成骨不全症的治疗中促进骨合成代谢且具有极低的心血管疾病安全隐患 (PCT No.: PCT/CN2019/074764. PCT Pub No.: WO2019/ 154410. PCT Pub Date: 15 August 2019)。该治疗性适配子於2019年已被美国食品药品监督管理局 (FDA,DRU-2019-6966)授予孤儿药称号认证。

 

成就

  • 香港浸会大学杰出研究指导奖(2018-19)
  • 香港浸会大学杰出学术研究表现奖(2017-18)
  • 北京市科学技术奖(一等奖),北京市政府,中国(2017)
  • 香港浸会大学杰出青年研究学者奖(2014-15)
  • 北京市科学技术奖(一等奖),北京市政府,中国(2014)
  • 北京市科学技术奖(一等奖),北京市政府,中国(2013)
  • 国家科学技术进步二等奖,中国教育部,中国(2013)
  • 青年学者奖,美国骨与矿物质研究协会,圣地牙哥,美国(2011)
  • 杰出青年学者奖,中国药学发展奖康辰骨质疏松医药研究奖(2009)

 

出版

精选期刊论文

  • Liang, C., J. Li, C. Lu, D. Xie, J. Liu, C. Zhong, X. Wu, R. Dai, H. Zhang, D. Guan, B. Guo, B. He, F. Li, X. He, W. Zhang, B. T. Zhang, G. Zhang (Corresponding Author) & A. Lu (Corresponding Author). “HIF1α inhibition facilitates Leflunomide-AHR-CRP signaling to attenuate bone erosion in CRP-aberrant rheumatoid arthritis.” Nature Communications 10.1 (2019): 4579. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-019-12163-z
  • Liang, Chao, Songlin Peng, Jie Li, Baoting Zhang (Corresponding Author), Aiping Lu (Corresponding Author) & Ge Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Inhibition of osteoblastic Smurf1 promotes bone formation in mouse models of distinctive age-related osteoporosis.” Nature Communications 9.1 (2018): 3428. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-05974-z
  • Zhang, Z. K., J. Li, D. Guan, C. Liang, Z. Zhuo, J. Liu, A. Lu, G. Zhang (Corresponding Author) & B. T. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “A newly identified lncRNA MAR1 acts as a miR-487b sponge to promote skeletal muscle differentiation and regeneration.” Journal of Cachexia, Sarcopenia and Muscle 9.3 (2018): 613-626. DOI: 10.1002/jcsm.12281
  • Li, F., J. Liu J., B. T. Zhang (Corresponding Author), A. P. Lu (Corresponding Author) & Ge Zhang (Corresponding Author). “A water-soluble nucleolin aptamer-paclitaxel conjugate for tumor-specific targeting in ovarian cancer.” Nature Communications 8 (2017): 1390. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-017-01565-6
  • Liang, C., F. Li, L. Wang, Z. K. Zhang, C. Wang, J. Li J, H. Zhu (Corresponding Author) & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Tumor cell-targeted delivery of CRISPR/Cas9 by aptamer-functionalized lipopolymer for therapeutic genome editing of VEGFA in osteosarcoma.” Biomaterials 147 (2017): 68-85. DOI: 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2017.09.015
  • Li, D., J. Liu, B. Guo, C. Liang, L. Dang, C. Lu, X. He, H. Y. Cheung, L. Xu, C. Lu, B. He, B. Liu, A. B. Shaikh, F. Li, L. Wang, Z. Yang, D. W. Au, S. Peng, Z. Zhang, B. T. Zhang, X. Pan, A. Qian, P. Shang, L. Xiao, B. Jiang, C. K. Wong, J. Xu, Z. Bian, Z. Liang, D. A. Guo, H. Zhu, W. Tan, A. Lu & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Osteoclast-derived exosomal miR-214-3p inhibits osteoblastic bone formation.” Nature Communications 7.7 (2016): 10872. DOI: 10.1038/ncomms10872
  • Liang, C., B. Guo, H. Wu, N. Shao, D. Li, J. Liu, L. Dang, C. Wang, H. Li, S. Li, W. K. Lau , Y. Cao, Z. Yang, C. Lu, X. He, D. W. T. Au, X. Pa, B. T. Zhang, C. Lu, H. Zhang, K. M. Yue, A. Qian, P. Shang, J. K. Xu, L. Xiao, Z. Bian, W. Tan, Z. Liang, F. He, L. Zhang, A. P. Lu & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Aptamer-functionalized lipid nanoparticles targeting osteoblasts as a novel RNA interference-based bone anabolic strategy.” Nature Medicine 21.3 (2015): 288-294. DOI: 10.1038/nm.3791
  • Liu, J., L. Dang, D. Li, C. Liang, X. He, H. Wu, A. Qian, Z. Yang, D. W. Au, M. W. Chiang, B. T. Zhang, Q. Han, K. K. Yue, H. Zhang, C. Lv, X. Pan, J. Xu, Z. Bian, P. Shang, W. Tan, Z. Liang, B. Guo, A. Lu & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “A delivery system specifically approaching bone resorption surfaces to facilitate therapeutic modulation of microRNAs in osteoclasts.” Biomaterials 52 (2015): 148-160. DOI: 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2015.02.007
  • Wang, X., B. Guo B, Q. Li, J. Peng, Z. Yang, A. Wang, D. Li, Z. Hou, K. Lv, G. Kan, H. Cao, H. Wu, J. Song, X. Pan, Q. Sun, S. Ling, Y. Li, M. Zhu, P. Zhang, S. Peng, X. Xie, T. Tang, A. Hong, Z. Bian, Y. Bai, A. Lu, Y. Li, F. He, G. Zhang (Corresponding Author) & Y. Li (Corresponding Author). “miR-214 targets ATF4 to inhibit bone formation.” Nature Medicine 19.1 (2013): 93-100. DOI: 10.1038/nm.3026
  • Zhang, G. (Corresponding Author), B. Guo, H. Wu, T. Tang, B. T. Zhang, L. Zheng, Y. He, Z. Yang, X. Pan, H. Chow, K. To, Y. Li, D. Li, X. Wang, Y. Wang, K. Lee, Z. Hou, N. Dong, G. Li, K. Leung, L. Hung, F. He, L. Zhang & L. Qin. “A delivery system targeting bone formation surfaces to facilitate RNAi-based anabolic therapy.” Nature Medicine 18.2 (2012): 307-314. DOI: 10.1038/nm.2617

Skip to main content
Featured Researchers

Professor Zhang Ge

Director, Technology Development Division
Associate Director and Professor, Teaching and Research Division
School of Chinese Medicine

BACK
Professor Zhang Ge

Contact

About

Professor Zhang Ge has devoted himself to aptamer-based translational medicine and drug discovery at the following three aspects (Figure 1), where the wisdom of traditional Chinese medicine meets modern science and technology. 

 

For aptamer-based targeted delivery towards translational medicine (Figure 2), Professor Zhang has identified an oligopeptide aptamer approaching bone formation surface (the first generation of osteoblast-target moiety) (Zhang G, et al, Nature Medicine, 2012; Wang X, et al, Nature Medicine, 2013) and a nucleic acid aptamer targeting osteoblast (the second generation of osteoblast-target moiety) (Liang Chao, et al, Nature Medicine, 2015). A review published in Nature Medicine evaluated the first-generation osteoblast-targeted delivery system as the first work to successfully package and administer siRNAs to therapeutically target the skeleton, leading to additional new strategies for targeting the skeletal remodelling unit (C. J. Rosen.  Nature Medicine, 2012). Nature Reviews Rheumatology and Nature Reviews Endocrinology made special comments on the second generation of osteoblast-target moiety, praising the work to accelerate the clinical translation of nucleic acid interference strategies for bone disorders (J. H. Duarte. Nature Reviews Rheumatology, 2015; J Sargent, Nature Reviews Endocrinology, 2015). Nature Review Drug Discovery also evaluated the work as a driving force for future development and clinical evaluation of aptamers (J. Zhou. Nature Review Drug Discovery, 2017). In China, the Tian Zhou-1 cargo spacecraft project, the second generation of osteoblast-target moiety, facilitated the investigation of the molecular mechanism underlying space microgravity-induced bone loss in astronauts during deep space exploration.

 

In addition, Professor Zhang has identified an oligopeptide aptamer approaching bone resorption surface – the first generation of osteoclast-target moiety, (Li D, et al, Nature Communication, 2016; Liu J, et al, Biomaterial, 2015) – and a nucleic acid aptamer targeting osteosarcoma cells (osteosarcoma-target moiety) (Liang Chao, et al, Biomaterial, 2017). Asia Research News evaluated the osteosarcoma-target moiety to pave the way for new clinical approaches using the CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing technology in cancer treatment (Asia Research News Magazine, 2019).

 

For aptamer-drug conjugates toward precision medicine (Figure 3), Professor Zhang has developed an osteoblast oligopeptide aptamer-chalcone conjugate to facilitate the conjugated herbal natural product chalcone to target osteoblast for promoting bone formation in BMP-treatment non-responders during spinal fusion (Liang Chao, et al, Nature Communication, 2018). He has also further developed a tumor cell aptamer-Paclitaxel (natural product) conjugate with high water solubility to facilitate the conjugated Paclitaxel to target tumour cells with low systemic toxicity in ovarian cancer – a precision medicine-based personalised Paclitaxel for specific cancer types (Li F, et al, Nature Communication, 2017).  

 

For therapeutic aptamers (Figure 4), Professor Zhang has found that sclerostin loop 3 truncation can promote bone anabolic Wnt signalling and bone formation but has no influence on the protection effect of sclerostin in the cardiovascular system. It guides drug discovery direction to address the clinical challenge (a cardiovascular safety concern) of the marked sclerostin antibody in osteoporosis treatment.  Further, Professor Zhang has identified an aptamer functionally targeting sclerostin loop 3 (the second generation of sclerostin inhibitor) to promote bone anabolism with low cardiovascular concern for bone anabolic therapy in osteoporosis and osteogenesis imperfect (PCT No.: PCT/CN2019/074764. PCT Pub No.: WO2019/ 154410. PCT Pub Date: 15 August 2019). The therapeutic aptamer was granted Orphan Drug Designation by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA, DRU-2019-6966) in 2019.  

 

Achievements

  • HKBU President's Award for Outstanding Performance in Research Supervision (2018-19)
  • HKBU President's Award for Outstanding Performance in Scholarly Work (2017-18)
  • Beijing Science and Technology Award (First class), Beijing Municipal Government, China (2017)
  • HKBU President's Award for Outstanding Performance as Young Researcher (2014-15)
  • Beijing Science and Technology Awards 1st class, Beijing Municipal Government, China (2014)
  • Beijing Science and Technology Awards 1st class, Beijing Municipal Government, China (2013)
  • National Science & Technology Progress Award 2nd class, the Ministry of Education of China, China (2013)
  • Young Investigator Award. American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, San Diego, US (2011)
  • Outstanding Young Investigator Award, Healthstar Osteoporosis Medical-related Research Award, HOMA (2009)

 

Research Outputs

Ten Most Representative Publications

  • Liang, C., J. Li, C. Lu, D. Xie, J. Liu, C. Zhong, X. Wu, R. Dai, H. Zhang, D. Guan, B. Guo, B. He, F. Li, X. He, W. Zhang, B. T. Zhang, G. Zhang (Corresponding Author) & A. Lu (Corresponding Author). “HIF1α inhibition facilitates Leflunomide-AHR-CRP signaling to attenuate bone erosion in CRP-aberrant rheumatoid arthritis.” Nature Communications 10.1 (2019): 4579. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-019-12163-z
  • Liang, Chao, Songlin Peng, Jie Li, Baoting Zhang (Corresponding Author), Aiping Lu (Corresponding Author) & Ge Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Inhibition of osteoblastic Smurf1 promotes bone formation in mouse models of distinctive age-related osteoporosis.” Nature Communications 9.1 (2018): 3428. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-05974-z
  • Zhang, Z. K., J. Li, D. Guan, C. Liang, Z. Zhuo, J. Liu, A. Lu, G. Zhang (Corresponding Author) & B. T. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “A newly identified lncRNA MAR1 acts as a miR-487b sponge to promote skeletal muscle differentiation and regeneration.” Journal of Cachexia, Sarcopenia and Muscle 9.3 (2018): 613-626. DOI: 10.1002/jcsm.12281
  • Li, F., J. Liu J., B. T. Zhang (Corresponding Author), A. P. Lu (Corresponding Author) & Ge Zhang (Corresponding Author). “A water-soluble nucleolin aptamer-paclitaxel conjugate for tumor-specific targeting in ovarian cancer.” Nature Communications 8 (2017): 1390. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-017-01565-6
  • Liang, C., F. Li, L. Wang, Z. K. Zhang, C. Wang, J. Li J, H. Zhu (Corresponding Author) & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Tumor cell-targeted delivery of CRISPR/Cas9 by aptamer-functionalized lipopolymer for therapeutic genome editing of VEGFA in osteosarcoma.” Biomaterials 147 (2017): 68-85. DOI: 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2017.09.015
  • Li, D., J. Liu, B. Guo, C. Liang, L. Dang, C. Lu, X. He, H. Y. Cheung, L. Xu, C. Lu, B. He, B. Liu, A. B. Shaikh, F. Li, L. Wang, Z. Yang, D. W. Au, S. Peng, Z. Zhang, B. T. Zhang, X. Pan, A. Qian, P. Shang, L. Xiao, B. Jiang, C. K. Wong, J. Xu, Z. Bian, Z. Liang, D. A. Guo, H. Zhu, W. Tan, A. Lu & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Osteoclast-derived exosomal miR-214-3p inhibits osteoblastic bone formation.” Nature Communications 7.7 (2016): 10872. DOI: 10.1038/ncomms10872
  • Liang, C., B. Guo, H. Wu, N. Shao, D. Li, J. Liu, L. Dang, C. Wang, H. Li, S. Li, W. K. Lau , Y. Cao, Z. Yang, C. Lu, X. He, D. W. T. Au, X. Pa, B. T. Zhang, C. Lu, H. Zhang, K. M. Yue, A. Qian, P. Shang, J. K. Xu, L. Xiao, Z. Bian, W. Tan, Z. Liang, F. He, L. Zhang, A. P. Lu & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “Aptamer-functionalized lipid nanoparticles targeting osteoblasts as a novel RNA interference-based bone anabolic strategy.” Nature Medicine 21.3 (2015): 288-294. DOI: 10.1038/nm.3791
  • Liu, J., L. Dang, D. Li, C. Liang, X. He, H. Wu, A. Qian, Z. Yang, D. W. Au, M. W. Chiang, B. T. Zhang, Q. Han, K. K. Yue, H. Zhang, C. Lv, X. Pan, J. Xu, Z. Bian, P. Shang, W. Tan, Z. Liang, B. Guo, A. Lu & G. Zhang (Corresponding Author). “A delivery system specifically approaching bone resorption surfaces to facilitate therapeutic modulation of microRNAs in osteoclasts.” Biomaterials 52 (2015): 148-160. DOI: 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2015.02.007
  • Wang, X., B. Guo B, Q. Li, J. Peng, Z. Yang, A. Wang, D. Li, Z. Hou, K. Lv, G. Kan, H. Cao, H. Wu, J. Song, X. Pan, Q. Sun, S. Ling, Y. Li, M. Zhu, P. Zhang, S. Peng, X. Xie, T. Tang, A. Hong, Z. Bian, Y. Bai, A. Lu, Y. Li, F. He, G. Zhang (Corresponding Author) & Y. Li (Corresponding Author). “miR-214 targets ATF4 to inhibit bone formation.” Nature Medicine 19.1 (2013): 93-100. DOI: 10.1038/nm.3026
  • Zhang, G. (Corresponding Author), B. Guo, H. Wu, T. Tang, B. T. Zhang, L. Zheng, Y. He, Z. Yang, X. Pan, H. Chow, K. To, Y. Li, D. Li, X. Wang, Y. Wang, K. Lee, Z. Hou, N. Dong, G. Li, K. Leung, L. Hung, F. He, L. Zhang & L. Qin. “A delivery system targeting bone formation surfaces to facilitate RNAi-based anabolic therapy.” Nature Medicine 18.2 (2012): 307-314. DOI: 10.1038/nm.2617